杂项

营销内容的统一策略

营销内容的统一策略

如果您没有注意到 – 在 CMI 的这些年里,我们已经花费了大量的脑细胞和数字墨水来定义和捍卫内容营销方法,将其作为一种独立且独特的方法来影响客户行为。

十多年前,我的好朋友兼 CMI 创始人 Joe Pulizzi 写了他的主要帖子,并为我们心爱的实践打下了大量基础。他说得很清楚。营销人员有机会向潜在客户和客户提供“真正相关且有用的内容,以帮助他们解决问题。

这篇文章仍然反映在 CMI 定义页面上——直到今天,它仍然是谷歌对“什么是内容营销”这个问题的第一个结果。但是,当然,我们的实践已经发展。正如我们几年后看到的那样,我写了一篇文章,试图分解内容策略和内容营销方法。然后,最近,随着品牌内容、品牌新闻、本地广告和品牌体验等方法变得越来越流行(是的,这是一件事),我们写了一篇文章并制作了一个随附的视频,试图用不同的方法将信号与噪音区分开来到业务内容。

简而言之——我们已经(正确地,有时甚至是激进地)谈论过什么是内容营销,什么不是。大多数情况下(我希望)我们的目标不是采取其他方法,而是在人们谴责或利用这种做法时倡导内容营销。我肯定知道的一件事是,在过去的 10 年里,我们一直试图清晰地看待我们为什么认为分手如此重要。

嗯 – 我们在 2019 年,我们正处于十多年经验的风口浪尖。让我们深吸一口气,看看我们到底在哪里。因为,一如既往,我们见证了您——商业从业者——实现了真正的创新。我们一直在关注您一直在关注内容领导者、战略家、经理、作家、SEO 专家和技术专家,他们找到了使营销和传播中的内容成为可扩展、可衡量和令人兴奋的方法的完美方法。

坦率地说,我们对我们所看到的创新水平感到谦卑。现在是我们进化的时候了。

将内容标准化作为营销和沟通的方法

是时候团结起来检查#AllTheThings了。是的,需要明确的是,方法上的差异仍然很重要——也许比以往任何时候都重要(我们将继续强调它们)。但现在是时候承认让各种内容成功的是同一个人。

是的,我们仍然认为公司应该像媒体公司一样运作。但是今天,内容团队不仅仅部署自有媒体平台来建立受众——他们同时还肩负着成为原创内容、品牌内容和技术驱动的内容策略方面的专家,使这些策略能够得到有效管理、管理和优化.

搭建舞台——我们学到了什么

如果我可以吹嘘一下,我会说我们有一个相当不错的 50 码视图来了解这些天的内容在哪里。正如我在上一篇文章中指出的那样,在 2018 年,我的团队 – 咨询和教育集团 – 直接与 30 多家财富 500 强企业合作。CMI 令人惊叹的研究团队对内容营销进行了年度研究,结果得到了来自来自世界各地的 1,474 名营销人员。2018 年内容营销世界有来自 50 多个国家/地区的 3,700 多名营销人员齐聚一堂,讨论内容的战略方法。

当我们从所有这些输入中收集见解时,我们可以看到一些关键趋势。

1. 集中集中的内容团队进行分组。

成功的公司非常重视企业内容功能。他们正在超越支持整个业务的专业从业人员,进入专注于营销和传播战略内容的专家团队。

 

67% 的 B2B 组织完全致力于他们的内容营销实践,其中一半的组织预计明年的预算会增加。在 B2C 中,情况类似。57% 的人希望增加预算,64% 的人表示他们的组织完全投入。

精心挑选的相关内容:增加您的内容营销预算?来自专家的 61 多个新想法

2. 这些团队的可扩展运营模型还有很长的路要走。

这就是品牌、本地化、内容营销和内容策略方法之间的差异突出的地方。简而言之,今天的内容团队同时肩负着支持营销和销售目标的任务,以及创建支持受众构建和更集成的业务目标的内容。但它的模型是什么?

通常,新兴的内容团队会组合在一起,而不会分离方法。内容团队只是通过他们可以创建的内容资产的数量来衡量,并作为所推广营销活动的数字目标。一段令人惊叹的以观众为中心的内容可能会受到可怕的营销活动的影响。或者,相反,一般的内容可能会基于执行良好的营销活动而大放异彩。

根据我们帮助数百家公司运营模式的经验,这种方法只是将优先级与目标不一致。正如我们最近所写的,当团队组合在一起时,他们应该着眼于创建一个“内容业务模型”,以真正了解这种媒体模型的样子——以及如何适当地扩展它。

这导致我们…

精心挑选的相关内容:构建内容营销团队(新的或成熟的)的易于应用的框架

3. 目标和可衡量性仍然是一个挑战。

如果内容中有一条线难以获得动力——以及对品牌内容、本地广告或内容营销的使用感到困惑——那就是如何支持目标并衡量实现目标的进展。

如今,为自有媒体和受众构建目的处理内容创建的团队通常会为本地广告活动创建内容或成为品牌内容工作的一部分。

现在,为不同类型的努力设定适当的、可衡量的目标非常重要——我们开始看到一些真正的框架出现。

然而,运营模式可能更重要——因为阐明和创建文档化基础文档内容创建策略的公司正在获得更多成功。企业的内容创建过程应该是一个过程,因为您创建的内容必须更加努力,它必须是可重用的,并且它必须可以跨多种方法进行扩展。你的思想领袖论文的想法应该在你的专有媒体系统上发挥作用,作为共享白皮书、网络研讨会、行业杂志中的原创文章,以及作为社交媒体推动的一系列信息图表。因此,您不仅需要一种集中式方法来正确创建所有合适的资产以进行扩展。您需要有一种通用且清晰的方法来衡量这些努力,以了解真正有效的方法以及有效的地方。

与聘请合适的代理机构或有创意的自由职业者相比,目标和可衡量性与拥有适当且可扩展的运营实践、治理、工作流程和技术相关得多。

精心挑选的相关内容:成功路线图:监控和衡量内容的表现

这对内容团队意味着什么

可能没有比我们在价值 30 亿美元的软件公司 Red Hat 看到的发展更好的例子了。在过去的几年里,全球内容总监 Laura Hamlyn 已经将内容团队从为销售、C-Suite 和专注于网站 SEO 的文章创建内容资产的少数人发展成为一个集成的卓越中心,作为优质品牌的开创性内容。,营销和销售努力。

红帽团队使用了四个以团队为中心的目标输入来平衡团队在何处以及如何发展并衡量有效性:

  • 提高公司知名度
  • 增加其内容平台上的订阅者数量
  • 增加需求以填补销售渠道
  • 提高内容质量/可扩展性要求(相关性和可查找性)

为此,红帽建立/雇用了一个由文案撰写人、记者、内容策略师、图书馆员/艺术策展人、本地化专家、学者和编辑组成的综合团队。在接下来的六个月内,公司应该有大约 45 名团队成员。简而言之:红帽非常重视内容,它是内容领域的战略性企业职能部门,负责营销、传播和销售。正如 Laura 在阅读本文时告诉我的那样,“我们在 Red Hat 被赋予了很多责任。品牌必须以一致的声音提供一致的价值。我们做到这一点的方式是通过一个一致的团队。”

精选相关内容:

这对 CMI 意味着什么?

自从乔写了他的主要博客文章以来,我们的目标保持不变:促进内容营销的实践。但如果这项任务是我们的北极星,我们必须承认并拓宽我们的视野,以应对不断发展的太空竞赛的变化。

2020年度内容营销从业者:

  • 组织传播策略的先驱。该团队并非作为内部按需内容自动售货机运作,而是作为企业营销和通信结构的一部分。
  • 了解商业内容的所有运营方法的差异和复杂性,从内容营销和内容战略,到品牌内容,再到本地广告,或任何其他本质上推动媒体创作作为商业战略的事物。
  • 为正在实施的战略适当地调整测量和目标未来的内容团队成员将建立具有自有媒体体验的受众,这些体验可以通过多种方式获利。他们领导短期广告活动的内容推广实施。他们通过智能赢得媒体和口碑策略推动帖子和自然搜索流量。
  • 支持客户旅程的每个部分明天的内容团队不仅仅是转化漏斗中最好的销售推动者。他们不仅仅是推动品牌知名度的以 SEO 为重点的团队。运行指导视频或客户活动的不仅仅是客户支持组织。明天的内容团队是在客户旅程的每个阶段提供受众价值的专家。

因此,我们扩大了我们的使命、我们的编辑范围、我们的教学和学习。在内容营销学院,您将看到更多关于本地广告、品牌内容和内容策略等主题的报道,以及我们对内容营销方法的持续关注。它是在我们的业务中战略性使用媒体的一系列具体但相关的方法。

 

 

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Back to top button

miscellaneous articles

A unified strategy for content in your marketing

A unified strategy for content in your marketing

In case you haven’t noticed – over the years here at CMI, we’ve spent quite a few brain cells and digital ink defining and defending the content marketing approach as a separate and distinct methodology for influencing customer behavior.

Over a decade ago, my good friend and CMI founder Joe Pulizzi wrote his primary post and put a ton of groundwork for our beloved practice. He said it very clearly. Marketers have the opportunity to provide “ really relevant and useful content to potential customers and customers to help them solve their problems.

This post is still reflected on the CMI definitions page – which still serves to this day as Google’s first result for the question “What is content marketing”. But, of course, our practice has evolved. As we looked a few years later, I wrote an article that attempted to break down content strategy and content marketing methodologies. And then, more recently, with approaches like branded content, brand journalism, local advertising, and brand experience becoming increasingly popular (yes it’s a thing), we wrote an article and created an accompanying video that attempted to separate signal from noise in different approaches to content in business.

In short – we’ve talked (both rightly and maybe sometimes aggressively) about what content marketing is and what it isn’t. Mostly (I hope) our goal was not to take the shots in other approaches, but rather to advocate for content marketing when people come to denounce or take advantage of the practice. One thing I know for sure is that for the past 10 years, we’ve always tried to get clear eyes and a full heart on why we think a breakup is so important.

Well – we’re in 2019 and we’re on the cusp of over a decade of experience. Let’s take a breath and see where we really are. Because, as always, we’ve watched you – the practitioners in business – achieve real innovation. We’ve been watching as you’ve been watching content leaders, strategists, managers, writers, SEO specialists, and technologists who have found the perfect ways to make content in marketing and communications a scalable, measurable, and exciting approach.

Quite frankly, we are humbled by the level of innovation we have seen. And it’s time for us to evolve, too.

Standardizing content as an approach to marketing and communications

Time to unite and examine #AllTheThings. Yes, to be clear, differences in methods are still important – perhaps more than ever (and we will continue to highlight them). But it’s time to admit that it’s the same people that make all kinds of content successful.

Yes, we still believe that companies should operate like media companies. But today, content teams don’t just deploy owned media platforms to build audiences – they are simultaneously tasked with being experts in original content, branded content, and technology-driven content strategies that enable these strategies to be managed, managed, and optimized effectively.

Set the stage – what we learned

If I could brag for a moment, I’d say we have a pretty good 50-yard view of where content is in the works these days. As I indicated in my last post, in 2018, my team – the Consulting and Education Group – worked directly with more than 30 of the Fortune 500. The amazing research team at CMI conducted our annual research on content marketing, which resulted in responses from 1,474 marketers from around the world. . Content Marketing World 2018 saw more than 3,700 marketers from over 50 countries come together to talk about a strategic approach to content.

When we gather insights from all of those inputs, we can see some crucial trends.

1. Focused and centralized content teams are grouped.

Successful companies take the enterprise content function very seriously. They are moving beyond the dedicated practitioners who support the entire business – into specialist teams focused on strategic content in marketing and communications.

 

Sixty-seven percent of B2B organizations are fully committed to their content marketing practice, and half of these organizations expect budgets to increase over the next year. In B2C, it’s a similar story. 57% are looking to increase budgets, and 64% say their organization is fully committed.

Handpicked Relevant Content: Increase Your Content Marketing Budget? 61+ new ideas from experts

2. Scalable operational models for these teams are still a long way off.

This is where the differences between branding, localization, content marketing, and content strategy approaches come to the fore. Simply put, today’s content teams are simultaneously tasked with supporting marketing and sales goals, as well as creating content that supports audience building and more integrated business goals. But what is the model for that?

Often, emerging content teams are grouped together without separating the approach. Content teams are simply measured by the number of content assets they can create and serve as digital objectives for the marketing campaigns being promoted. A piece of amazing audience-focused content can suffer from a horrific marketing campaign. Or, on the contrary, an average piece of content may shine through based on a well-executed marketing campaign.

In our experience helping hundreds of companies with operating models, this approach is simply a misalignment of priorities against goals. As we wrote recently, when teams are put together, they should look to create a “content business model” that truly understands what that media model looks like – and how it can be appropriately scaled.

This leads us to…

Handpicked Relevant Content: An Easy-to-Apply Framework for Building a Content Marketing Team (New or Mature)

3. Objectives and measurability remain a challenge.

If there’s one line in the content struggle to gain momentum — as well as confusion about the use of branded content, local advertising, or content marketing — it’s how to support goals and measure progress toward them.

It is common these days for the team that handles content creation for owned media and audience building purposes to create content for a local ad campaign or to be part of a branded content effort.

Now, setting appropriate, measurable goals for different types of efforts is extremely important — and we’re starting to see some real frameworks emerge.

However, the operating model may be more important – because companies that articulate and create a documented foundational document content creation strategy are succeeding in greater numbers. The content creation process for businesses should be one as the content you create has to work harder, it has to be reusable, and it has to be scalable across multiple approaches. Your thought leadership essay idea should work on your proprietary media system, as a shared white paper, webinar, original article in an industry magazine, and as a series of infographics fueled by social media. Thus, you not only need a centralized method to properly create all the right assets to scale. You need to have a common — and clear — way of measuring those efforts to see what is really working and where it is working.

Objectives and measurability are much more related to having an appropriate and scalable operating practice, governance, workflow and technology than if you have engaged the right agency or creative freelancer.

Handpicked, Relevant Content: The Roadmap to Success: Monitor and Measure Your Content’s Performance

What does this mean for content teams

There may be no better example of this development than we see developing at Red Hat, the $3 billion software company. Over the past few years, Laura Hamlyn, Global Director of Content, has grown the content team from a handful of people who created content assets for sales, C-Suite, and articles focused on SEO for a website into an integrated center of excellence, pioneering content as a premium brand. , marketing, and sales efforts.

The Red Hat team used four team-focused goal inputs to balance where and how the group grows and measure effectiveness:

  • Increase company awareness
  • Increase the number of subscribers on their content platforms
  • Increase demand to fill the sales pipeline
  • Increased content quality/scalability requirements (relevancy and findability)

To this end, Red Hat has built/employed an integrated team of copywriters, journalists, content strategists, librarians/art curators, localization experts, academics, and editors. Within the next six months, the company should have approximately 45 team members. Simply put: Red Hat takes content seriously, and it is a strategic corporate function in the content field for marketing, communications and sales. As Laura told me when reaching out for this article, “We have been given a lot of responsibility at Red Hat. Brands have to deliver consistent value with a consistent voice. The way we do that is through a consistent team.”

Hand-picked related content:

What does this mean for CMI?

Our goal remains the same since Joe wrote his primary blog post: Promote the practice of content marketing. But if this mission is our North Star, we must acknowledge and broaden our horizons to meet the changes in the evolving space race.

Content Marketing Practitioner of the Year 2020:

  • Pioneer in the organization’s communication strategy. The team does not operate as an in-house on-demand content vending machine – but as part of the marketing and communications fabric of the business.
  • Understands the differences and intricacies of all operational approaches to content in business , from content marketing and content strategy, to branded content, to local advertising, or anything else that inherently drives media creation as a business strategy.
  • Aligns measurement and objectives appropriately for the strategy being implemented . Future content team members will build audiences with owned media experiences that can be monetized in multiple ways. They lead the content promotional implementation of short-term advertising campaigns. They drive posts and organic search traffic from smart earned media and word-of-mouth strategies.
  • Supports every part of the customer journey . Tomorrow’s content teams aren’t just the best sales enablers on the conversion funnel. They’re not just SEO-focused teams that drive brand awareness. It’s not just customer support organizations running how-to videos or customer events. Tomorrow’s content teams are the experts at delivering audience value at every stage of the customer journey.

Thus, we expand our mission, our editorial coverage, our teaching and our learning as well. At the Content Marketing Institute, you’ll see more coverage of topics such as local advertising, branded content, and content strategy as well as our continued focus on the content marketing approach. It is a unified family of specific but relevant approaches to the strategic use of media in our business.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button